Leave a comment

The Food Network

One night I couldn’t sleep so I was lying on the sofa flipping through infomercials.  I didn’t have any money to spend so I decided that ordering something from the home shopping network wouldn’t be such a good idea.  Now many people I know hate Comcast cable, but to me they are wonderful late nights when you can’t find anything on regular TV.  I’m one of those people how has several channels but I only watch a few of them and I have a DVR so I record mostly everything I watch.  That night Comcast on demand was the best thing that could have ever happen to me!  I started out with TV One looking for old sitcoms like Good Times or The Jeffersons and I ended up watching G. Garvin Road Tour repeats.  Now I will be the first to tell you that I live in Atlanta and I have not experienced half of what they have to offer here, so I was excited when his stop on the Road Tour was some restaurants here.  I don’t remember the name of this soul food restaurant but there were two recipes that I just had to write down and try.  They were simple and didn’t require many ingredients.  The first was meat loaf.  I don’t know what it is but it is very hard for me to eat meatloaf.  It has to be a mind thing because I know it’s either ground beef or ground turkey but I just can’t bring myself to eat anything but the edge piece.  Weird I know!  I decided to try it anyway and it was good, but like before I could only eat the edge piece.  Luckily my boyfriend will eat anything I put in front of him.  The next recipe stuffed chicken, with spinach and feta cheese.  Oh my goodness!!!  This actually came from the restaurant that Jermaine Dupre had here but it has since closed so I never got the chance to go by and taste the chef’s version but I think mine was pretty good.  So as you can imagine I was very excited and really couldn’t go to sleep so I decided to go to the Food Network on demand and check them out.  The way this sounds I got up and cooked everything that night, sorry I get excited about cooking.  Back to the

Food Network, the first show I watched was Rachel Ray 30 minute meals because the title caught my eye.  Anything I can cook in 30 minutes is great.  Needless to say I am hooked.  I find myself cooking with vegetables, actually buying onions, garlic, bell peppers and celery to chop up and put in my dishes.  I would never eat vegetables before but they bring so many flavors to my food.  I’m not too crazy about the reality food shows like chopped, next food network star or iron chef but the In the Kitchen shows I love.  I watch 30 Minute Meals, Paula Dean, Sandra Lee, Ask Aida, Down Home with the Neelys, Big Daddy’s House, Guy F, Barefoot Contessa, Bobby Flay, Giada at Home, Secrets of Restaurant Chef and Cooking For Real.  There are probably some more shows that I watch but I think I covered most of them.  I’m so addicted now that I record the ones that come on during the day.  I have made several recipes and I must say they are great, although sometimes mine doesn’t look like it does on TV but it taste good.

Leave a Reply

