Leave a comment

The journey begins…

Yesterday was my birthday and I had a very good day. For the most part I slept until a little after 11am, I say for the most part because I was getting birthday calls, text and emails starting at midnight. I want to say thank you to everyone for making me feel special. I am always so blessed to have so many friends and family remember me on my special day. I received several cards, a balloon, an elephant head bear, two bottles of moscato, and my sister made me a necklace. I took my mom home, she came up here because my truck is leaking antifreeze and she is letting me use her car until I can get mine fixed. I LUVS MY MAMA! Anyway she wanted to go home yesterday so Cliff and I took her home. I really feel like yesterday was the start of new beginning for me. I mended fences and made a vow to stay on track in every aspect of my life.

Today was a very good day. I woke up a little tired because I was up at 2am trying to watch this murder mystery, knowing I had to come to work today. When I got to work I had two cards on my desk with gifts (monetary!) so you know that made me smile! I was just saying, “Dang I need to get a pedicure!” At lunch I received another card and a cake from my coworkers. Now I’m just sitting here watching the clock…shame on me!

From my previous post “Better” I made a list of some of the things I want to change in my life. I’m going to try my best to keep everyone posted on my progress through this blog. So here we go….My friend Belinda (who called me immediately after she received my email) emailed me the Merriam-Webster’s word of the day site and I joined that today. Hopefully I will start learning new words tomorrow! I have also started my reading on history and culture. I’m initially reading for class Leading Minds An Anatomy of Leadership by Howard Gardner. He chose several people in history to write about and analyzed their leadership styles. I have to choose 5 of the people that we discussed in class and write a 5 to 7 page essay on their leadership characteristics. Now I must admit during class I only glanced through the reading because it wasn’t very interesting to me but now I have a 1 ½ week to buckle down and really read so I can knock out this essay. I am starting with Pope John XXIII because he was the last person we discussed in class so he is still fresh on my mind. From what I have read so far he was interesting but I have to re-read it before I can tell you anything about him.

So I am taking baby steps but I am starting on my journey. Keep me in your prayers! Ready! Set! Go!

Leave a Reply

