8 Comments

New beginnings! I love sewing!

I recently started sewing. I think it was the end of June 2014. I must say it has been a very rewarding experience for me. I am learning new things about myself and realizing that I am more creative than I thought. I haven’t felt this way about anything since I wrote my book Deception Disguised as Love http://www.amazon.com/Deception-Disguised-Love-LeJanaro-Barnes-ebook/dp/B00MAUOBR6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1407976514&sr=1-1&keywords=deception+disguised+as+love

One night I was on Facebook and I went to the mimigstyle.com fan page just to look at her style of fashion and I realized that she was sewing most of her clothes, she had a blog, and a YouTube channel.  I went to her YouTube channel that night and watch a couple of her sewing tutorials and I was hooked. I sent a text message to my sister and my mother letting them know that I wanted to start sewing.

Now let me explain something… My first experience with sewing was my senior year in high school when I had to take home economics. I was supposed to make a pair of shorts with pockets and it was a disaster! I wish I had a picture for you but the picture in my head is horrifying enough.

Ok back to the present! My mom told me she would give me everything I needed to start sewing, so I went home that weekend and she did just that. She gave me a sewing machine and a sewing box with all of the beginner tools. We even went to Hancock fabrics to show me how to pick out fabric. I felt like a kid in a candy store! Now I can say that I am completely hooked and if I could I would spend every single day sewing!

It is very gratifying when I post my sewing projects on Facebook and Instagram and I get messages in my inbox of people asking me to sew things for them. I’m not sewing for other people but I know that in the future this could be an option for me. Sooooo here I go restarting my blog with new topics and hopefully I will keep it up. I will hopefully in the future take more professional looking picture but for now, I will share what I have so far. Thank you for all of the love and support! I hope you guys enjoy!

20140620_235952

8 comments on “New beginnings! I love sewing!

  1. It’s so cool you started sewing! I learnt how to sew last year, and nothing is more liberating than being able to make your own imagined clothes! So even if you don’t find something in a store and you need it immediately, you can just sew it up! Keep going!

  2. I hope so too. It’s been years since I’ve done any sewing at all.

  3. Wowm you just started sewing in 2014? You do such an AMAZING job with your garments. Soon you’ll be sewing for business.

  4. […] All! This is my first TBT post and I’m super excited about it. If you’ve read my New Beginnings!  I love sewing! or My first sewing project posts, you know I started sewing in June of 2014. I never thought my […]

Leave a Reply

