Leave a comment

I love pencil skirts

Hello All!

Thanksgiving is right around the corner and I’m super excited! I am cooking a few things this year but nothing outside of my expertise. I wanted to share the pencil skirts that I have sewn over the last few months. I love sewing the pencil skirts because it’s only one seam! First I measure my waist and the length I want the skirt to be. Then I fold my cloth in half to cut on the fold and cut 1/2 my waist size, then my length. It is best to use tailor’s chalk to draw out your measurements and cut along the lines. After cutting your should end up with something that looks like a rectangle. Keep in mind that you will need a stretchy material for this skirt because there is little to no ease but if you want a little bit of ease then add 2 inches to your waist measurement. I cut the skirt, sew down the back seam,  add a casing around the waist for my elastic, and hem the bottom of the skirt. It literally takes about 15 minutes from start to finish. I hope you enjoy my creations! Happy Sewing!

20140701_193535 20141014_174041 20141022_191655

Leave a Reply

