13 Comments

Vogue 1312 + Pattern Review

DSCN2895
Hello All! I can’t say enough about this dress. It is cute, comfy, and easy to sew. I fell in love with Vogue 1312 as soon as I saw it. Sometimes I shy away from Vogue patterns because more often than not, they call for a lining and I have a love/hate relationship with lining. I purchased the fabric from Fine Fabrics, which was a very interesting experience. I never start a conversation with people because I am an introvert, but that day was different. A fashion designer by the name of Dia Jackson Bocage was there and I inquired about the type of fabric to use for this pattern. To my surprise she had recently sewed the dress for a client of hers. She walked around with me until we found the perfect fabric. I was grateful for her guidance and advice. I learned that day to never be shy when it comes to sewing! The shoes are Jessica Simpson. See you later! Check out the pattern review below:

Pattern Description: Misses’ Dresses
Fabric used: Two-way stretch knit
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes
What size did you cut? 12
Level of difficulty: Easy
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I didn’t necessarily dislike this, but there is a lot of fabric to work with when you are attaching the bottom layer.
Pattern alterations or design changes: None
Would you sew it again? Yes
Would you recommend it for others? Yes

Blog pic 4

DSCN2899

13 comments on “Vogue 1312 + Pattern Review

  1. I have never ever understood why anyone would buy that pattern. The woman modelling it is terrifying. Now I understand though – it looks cracking on you. lovely soft fabric. Well done.

  2. Thank you , I’m definately going to go ahead with making this dress now. It looks wonderful on you .

  3. I just bought that pattern today and Love it! Thanks for the review! Looks great on you!

  4. This dress looks so lovely on you! I totally agree with the others – I’ve had the pattern for a while but have now decided to make it, too. THANK you for sharing this! It’s gorgeous!

  5. It is wonderful to see not only the dress, but how it looks on you. Another reviewer said this pattern fit small in the bodice. You didn’t say that you made a FBA on yours. It looks just beautiful on you. Thanks for writing a review of Vogue pattern 1312!

  6. You mentioned that the bottom part of the dress was heavy–did it make the bodice stretch by pulling on it with that weight? I had that problem with a different pattern sewn in a 2 way stretch knit.
    You look lovely!
    Lisa, near San Francisco

    • Hello thank you! Yes it did pull the bodice, plus I didn’t line the bodice which probably didn’t help either.

      • Thank you! I think I need to stay away from stretchy bodices:) The armholes really grew and I had stabilized them with interfacing, but not enough!

Leave a Reply

