Leave a comment

Chorizo and Kale Soup

20150727_152656

Hello All! Today I wanted to share this Chorizo and Kale soup I found while watching Trisha’s Southern Kitchen on Food Network. The title of this show is Feel-good food, where she talks about the 80/20 rule. The 80/20 rule is eating healthy 80 percent of the time and indulging 20 percent of the time. I’ve always wanted to try Chorizo and I’ve only used Kale for juicing, so when I saw this episode I had to give this hearty soup a try because it also has potatoes and onions in it. I haven’t always been a fan of soups but lately I have been obsessed with vegetable soup but this time I wanted something with meat. This soup is so flavorful that you don’t even need to add seasonings! If you love a great hearty soup then you should definitely give this one a try.

Recipe:

Jimmie Dean Chorizo Sausage

1 large sweet onion

2 minced garlic cloves

3 medium red potatoes

4 cups of chicken broth

1 bunch of kale

2 table spoons of olive oil

Brown the Chorizo olive oil, then add onions, garlic, potatoes, and chicken broth. Boil the ingredients for about 20 minutes, add kale and boil another 10 minutes. Let stand for about 5 minutes to thicken the liquid. You can also add Parmesan cheese to taste.

Leave a Reply

