5 Comments

Simplicity 1276 + Pattern Review

20150805_170130

Hello All! It’s the weekend! Today I wanted to share this flashback Friday DIY with you. I made this dress a while ago and wore it to church but I didn’t take enough pictures for the blog. This is the Mimi G Simplicity pattern 1276. I have to admit when I saw this pattern the first time I was afraid to sew it because of the color blocking. I didn’t know which colors I wanted to use and or the type of fabric, well then I found Fine Fabrics and my dreams came true! I found the perfect fabric and colors to finally make this dress.

Of course Mimi G has step by step video tutorials on how to make this dress so I didn’t even bother to look at the pattern instructions. I am a visual and kinesthetic learner therefore I hate reading patterns! I love the outcome of this dress and I want to sew more in the future. Check out the pattern review below. Enjoy your weekend!

Pattern Description: Misses’ and Miss Petite Knit Dress

Fabric used: Double knit

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes but I think that my color blocking is on the opposite shoulder. It’s a good think my fabric was the same on both sides!

What size did you cut? 12

Level of difficulty: The pattern was easy for me because of the step by step video tutorial that Mimi G provides but if I had to read the pattern instructions, I would say the level of difficulty may be medium.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that you can color block with this pattern because that is something that I am look to experiment more with in the future. 

Pattern alterations or design changes: My color blocking is on the opposite shoulder but that was my mishap! Lol! It still turned out great though.

Would you sew it again? Absolutely!

Would you recommend it for others? Absolutely!

20150805_170137

20150805_170155

20150805_170131

20150805_170121

20150805_170131

5 comments on “Simplicity 1276 + Pattern Review

  1. Love it! And the colors!

  2. Very nice, I love the colours that were combined.

    I have never sewn knit fabric before.

    You look great. Well done! 🙂

  3. […] the pattern aside until I found the perfect fabric. I purchased this purple double knit fabric for Simplicity 1276, and I was pleased to learn that I had enough left to make this dress. I am very pleased with the […]

Leave a Reply

