Leave a comment

My First DIY Clutch!

Hello All! I hope that you all are having a wonderful weekend. Yesterday I attempted to make a clutch out of some scarp faux leather I had left over from another project. I will probably use if for a makeup bag instead of a clutch. I was watching videos on YouTube on how to make clutches and I ran across this DIY Designer Clutch + Tips on How to Start Sewing video on Cheap But Chic’s YouTube channel. This was quite an experience for me but I figured since it was my first time, practice will make perfect….eventually! Below are the pictures and instructions are below.

Tools:

  • Sewing machine
  • Thread
  • Scissors
  • Rotary Cutter
  • Ruler
  • Tailor’s Chalk
  • ½ yard of faux leather
  • ½ yard of lining
  • 12 inch zipper

DSCN3054DSCN3056

Cut lining and faux leather 11 x 13. Place the zipper face down on the right side of the faux leather then place the lining on top. I used binder clips to hold the pieces in place and sew.

DSCN3057DSCN3058DSCN3059

This is what it should look like

DSCN3060

With right sides together place the faux leather on top of the other side of the zipper and then place the lining on top and sew.

DSCN3061

Open up the zipper half way then sew the sides and bottom of the clutch together

DSCN3062 DSCN3063

Here is the final product!

DSCN3064

Leave a Reply

