2 Comments

Simplicity 1428 + Pattern Review

DSCN3070

Hello All! It’s almost time for the weekend! I’m excited because I am working on several things and I’m looking forward to learning and growing over the next few months. Today I wanted to share these pants I made using Simplicity 1428. Of course the top is McCall’s 7021; I don’t think you all will see any more of these tops until winter when I add long sleeves.

Most of the time I sew dresses, shirts, and skirts but I love wearing slacks so I decided to give this pattern a try. I found the fabric in the remnant section at Fine Fabrics for $2.99.  I need to invest in some fabric swatches, do you all know the best place to find them? The pants were very easy to sew. I always have trouble with waistbands but since this one called for elastic, it was a breeze. I will definitely be using this pattern a lot because of the ease of sewing. Check out the pattern review and pictures below. See you later!

Pattern Description: Misses’ pants

Fabric used: Polyester blend

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes

What size did you cut? I usually cut a size 12 but lately I have been cutting a 14 because my hips seem to get wider over night! I also cut a 14 because the fabric does not have any give (stretch)

Level of difficulty: Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that these are straight leg pants because I’m trying not to make all of my pants wide leg or boot cut.

Pattern alterations or design changes: I had to shorten the length of the pants 1 ½ inches because I am 5’ 2” and all pants patterns are too long for me.

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it for others? Yes

DSCN3071

DSCN3074

DSCN3072

DSCN3073

2 comments on “Simplicity 1428 + Pattern Review

  1. Love the color combinations

Leave a Reply

