11 Comments

McCall’s 6988 + Pattern Review

DSCN3079

Hello All! It’s Monday! What are your plans for this week? There are many things that I want to accomplish this week, including getting my license renewed because my birthday is next week! I’ve noticed that I have been wasting a great deal of time over the last several weeks, which is not great because I know how to manage my time. Heck I teach my students time management! Heck I even wrote a post on it!

Any who! This dress is McCall’s 6988. The first time I saw this dress Mimi G was rocking it in hot pink! I knew at that moment I had to have this pattern. At the time I wasn’t comfortable with patterns but I bought it anyway and put it aside for the future. The first time I made this dress it came out pretty good but it was too big! Check out my “this dress is too big pose”! LOL!

PhotoGrid_1440425940897

Again I put the pattern aside until I found the perfect fabric. I purchased this purple double knit fabric for Simplicity 1276, and I was pleased to learn that I had enough left to make this dress. I am very pleased with the outcome! Check out the pattern review and pictures below. See you later!

Pattern Description: Misses’ dress

Fabric used: Double knit

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes and I didn’t realize I had the same color as the dress on the envelope until I started to sew it!

What size did you cut? 10. I usually cut a 12 but the first time I made this dress it was too big.

Level of difficulty: Easy; the pattern instructions are very easy to follow from start to finish.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like this pattern because it is easy to sew and you can do color blocking if you chose to.

Pattern alterations or design changes: Since the fabric is a thick double knit, it has a significant amount of stretch, so I skipped the facing and zipper. The next time I make this dress I won’t skip those details just to see the difference in the fit.

Would you sew it again? Yes because you can add sleeves and wear this dress in the fall and winter months as well.

Would you recommend it for others? Yes

DSCN3081

DSCN3076

DSCN3077

DSCN3078

11 comments on “McCall’s 6988 + Pattern Review

  1. Happy Monday! My main goal it to hem the 4 dresses I made over the weekend. And figure out this jumpsuit idea that is in my head. Oh and actually go to the gym instead of just saying I’m going.

    • My sister and I have plans to go to the gym 3 times a week starting today! Let’s motivate each other! Oh we are also changing our eating habits.

      • Sounds like a plan. I’m trying for Monday, Wednesday, Friday but Tuesday, Thursday may work better, I just know I’ll slip Saturday though.

  2. You look fab! Love the color. You can do it ladies!
    Think I have this pattern. But I gotta slim thus,waist down a bit first…lol.

  3. Pretty! Was the facing for the neckline because I notice it’s a bit drooping. That could also be due to sizing still being a little too big (maybe you can add darts at the shoulders to pinch out that excess at the neck?)

  4. You did a GREAT job!! Looks very nice on you too… LOVE the purple. So soft.

Leave a Reply

