2 Comments

Simplicity 1317 + Pattern Review

C360_2015-10-13-18-17-45-669

Hello All! Let me start out by saying I absolutely love this shirt! I saw this pattern during a Simplicity sale a while ago and put it in my stash for fall. I wanted to find the perfect fabric because I believe that is what makes the shirt unique. I found this Ponte knit at Fine Fabric, I already had the gray in my stash so it worked out perfectly! The only thing I had to decide is which colors to go with because they had black and gray and blue and gray. I decided on the pink, something I rarely do but it worked out well.

I wore this shirt to work one day last week and received raved reviews! I paired with my New York & Company 7th Avenue Boot Cut pants. I love New York and Company pants because they fit on my waist and my hips perfectly. Check out the pictures and pattern review below!

Pattern Description: Misses Pullover Knit Top

Fabric used: Ponte Knit

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes

What size did you cut? Small

Level of difficulty: Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I don’t like neckbands because I never cut the right size. I had to stretch the neckband more than usual because I should have cut a larger size. This is why the shirt looks gathered at the neck.

Pattern alterations or design changes: None

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it for others? Yes

C360_2015-10-13-18-17-16-431

C360_2015-10-13-18-13-34-130-1

C360_2015-10-13-18-17-27-086

2 comments on “Simplicity 1317 + Pattern Review

  1. […] Hello all! Today’s DIY is Simplicity 1317 modified. This is a shirt that I lengthened into a dress. I followed the Mimi G Lace Knit Dress October 2015 sew-along to accomplish this look. I absolutely love the fabric she used, and I remembered that Fine Fabrics had a  similar print. I also use this pattern to make a shirt using an argyle grey and pink fabric. You can check out the pattern review here. […]

  2. […] Hello all! Today’s DIY is Simplicity 1317 modified. This is a shirt that I lengthened into a dress. I followed the Mimi G Lace Knit Dress October 2015 sew-along to accomplish this look. I absolutely love the fabric she used, and I remembered that Fine Fabrics had a  similar print. I also use this pattern to make a shirt using an argyle grey and pink fabric. You can check out the pattern review here. […]

Leave a Reply

