7 Comments

Butterick 6244 + Pattern Review

PhotoGrid_1446170966876 (1)

When I saw Butterick 6244 in their Fall Lookbook, I absolutely had to have it. The problem was none of my fabric stores had it in stock! Can you imagine, I live in Atlanta and I have several Hancock Fabrics and Jo-Ann Fabric that I can visit and NOT ONE had it in stock! I even went to Athens with my mom and they didn’t have it! Ok so my rant is over….

Finally the pattern became available and then I had to decide on the fabric. I couldn’t find a wool fabric that I liked so I put it on the backburner for a while. Then one of my sew sisters, FrougieFashionista posted her version of the jacket for the FabricMart Fabricistas: Fashion Challenge 3 (which she won second place!) stating that she used fleece. That’s all I needed to hear (read), I headed to Hancock Fabrics to their fleece sale and grabbed 5 yards of brown. Now you don’t need 5 yards for the pattern, I just like to have a little extra.

I decided to go with a very casual look. These are Broken In Straight Khaki pants from Gap and shirt is thrifted. The shoes are Kenneth Cole Reaction Creator 2 PN Leopard (Unfortunately they are out of stock). I found these comfy shoes Labor Day weekend at North Georgia Premium Outlet for $9.99! My bestie purchased them for my birthday! Check out the pattern review and pictures below. See you later!

Pattern Description: Misses’/Women’s Coat and Dress

Fabric used: Fleece

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes

What size did you cut? 10, I could probably get away with an 8 next time

Level of difficulty: Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love that this pattern is quick and easy to sew

Pattern alterations or design changes: None

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it for others? Yes

C360_2015-10-30-15-33-49-621

C360_2015-10-30-15-33-58-413

C360_2015-10-30-15-32-36-064

C360_2015-10-30-15-26-43-657

C360_2015-10-30-15-29-33-626

7 comments on “Butterick 6244 + Pattern Review

  1. Lovin’ it. I want one too!

  2. I cut this out and having a problem with the placement of the dart and the collar. Did you have any problem or can you give me any advice?

    • I actually didn’t have any issues with it. I was trying to look online to see if ant other people had issues but I couldn’t find any

  3. Beautiful fabric and colour. Lovely pattern! Nice job! Thanks for the review.

  4. Love it! I now need a brown one. I still want to make a wool one but I’m having a problem finding the right one.

Leave a Reply

