8 Comments

See & Sew B5480

C360_2016-01-01-15-15-36-728

Happy New Year!!!! I can’t even explain how excited I am about 2016! The possibilities are endless. Now on to this top… I actually made this top on Christmas day. I wasn’t able to sew for a while because I was teaching 5 classes online, 1 on ground, and I’m taking a class. Talk about busy!

This is See & Sew B5480, a super easy top that can be made in less than 2 hours from start to finish. I love this pattern because it is very versatile. You can wear it as is, add a belt, or lengthen it into a dress. Check out the pattern review below:

Pattern Description: Misses’ Top

Fabric used: Ponte Knit from Fine Fabrics

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done? Yes

What size did you cut? Small

Level of difficulty: Very easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love everything about this pattern!

Pattern alterations or design changes: I did not add the elastic and bias tape to the sleeves

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it for others? Yes

C360_2016-01-01-15-14-15-646

C360_2016-01-01-15-15-48-713

C360_2016-01-01-15-13-28-595

C360_2016-01-01-15-15-42-222

8 comments on “See & Sew B5480

  1. Very pretty! Thanks for the review. (love your fabric choice!)

  2. The belted look is my favorite!!!

  3. Love it so versatile! Can see it being worn with so many things and I secretly love tie die and batiks. Prints, for daze!

  4. It looks beautiful on you! I have some background and questions…

    My teengirl bought this pattern for me for Christmas. I think she feels like I sew for others too much and ought to do some for myself now and then. 🙂 I couldn’t find a voile or georgette that wasn’t too sheer for me, and I don’t want to add a layer, so I ended up with a rayon that has a nice drape and is lightweight but not sheer, in a black-and-white floral print.

    I planned on the flutter sleeves because I like the way they look in the pattern image, but in looking at reviews, I think they may be too short. I’m not fond of the ruffly look of the half-sleeve. I was seriously considering doing a loose cuff instead, even though it would be more tailored than the neckline. I may just lengthen the flutter sleeves, or now that I’ve seen yours, I may leave the casing off the long sleeve. I’m also considering curving the hemline a bit (shirttail, maybe small side slits).

    Okay, so what was my question? Oh–right. Besides wondering if the loose cuff would seem totally off on this, I am wondering about the neckline. I can’t wear it off the shoulder and the image on the pattern shows a wide neckline. If I narrow it up, will those longer sleeves poof? I’m worried it might look a bit sackish, too. To me, it seems made to be worn as you are wearing it, but that’s not an option for me.

    I know it’s a lot of subjective conjecture, but you’re one step ahead of me in having actually put the blouse together and put it on…Hoping for your opinion. (I’m a bit of a nervous sewist, can you tell?)

    • Hello! I think if narrow the neckline, you can lengthen the sleeves. I think they may poof if you don’t. I would try it on muslin first just to be safe. I’m nervous as well, you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

